GSEF Governance

Guiding Principles

On November 27, 2014, the GSEF Board has approved the following guiding principles for GSEF:

  1. GSEF exists to support enhancements to graduate studies at the university, and is not meant to act as a primary source of funding. In general, GSEF does not support infrastructure projects or graduate student research costs.
  2. GSEF will not direct contributions from all graduate students into programs or funding opportunities that are not open to the majority the grad student population.  Exceptions can be made for cases where there is an opportunity to leverage substantial matching funds from other sources.
  3. GSEF should be recognized in appropriate ways for its contributions, and strives to be actively engaged with the graduate student population at all campuses of the University of Waterloo.

Governance Structure

Board of Directors

  • Julia Goyal (GSEF Coordinator – chair)
  • Louise Watson(Applied Health Sciences)
  • Paige Stirling (Arts)
  • Thadsha Chandrakumaran (Engineering)
  • Allison Elgie (Environment)
  • Kshitij Jain (Mathematics)
  • Courtney Robichaud (Science)
  • Richard O’Brien (GSA Delegate)
  • Jeff Casello (Associate Vice-President, Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs)
  • Heidi Mussar (Staff, Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs)
  • Wayne Gadsby (Staff, Finance)
  • Robert Henderson (Alumnus of a UW graduate program)
  • Bruce Fang (GSEF Treasurer)
  • Fred Fu (Secretary)

Project Application Review Committee

  • Julia Goyal(GSEF Coordinator – chair)
  • Louise Watson, Danielle Andrew (Applied Health Sciences)
  • Emily Britton, Rebekka Corneil  (Arts)
  • Thadsha Chandrakumaran, Stephen Phillips (Engineering)
  • Robert Pangborn, Phoebe Stevens (Environment)
  • Kenneth Zhou, Nathalie Moon  (Mathematics)
  • Courtney Robichaud, Chiamaka Okoli (Science)

Past Coordinators

  • Danielle Andrew (2016-2017)
  • Kaitlin Kish (2016)
  • Robert Henderson (2015-2016)
  • Maya D’Alessio (2014-2015)
  • Ahmed Abdel Aziz (2013-2014)
  • Dan McRoberts (2012-2013)
  • Mohamed Shamseldein  (2011-2012)
  • Pylin Chuapetcharasopon (2010-2011)
  • Daniel Nadolny (2009-2010)
  • Martin Day (2008-2009)

Governance Documents


Graduate Studies Endowment Fund • email: